Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

All around LEONARDO 4 (and previous 2014)
Post Reply
Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

Post by Dishant »

I'm working in a project and required to convert the output excel file grid number(X,Y) to respective latitude and longitude. So is is possible to convert the grid to latitude longitude? If yes, How?

enviadmin
Site Admin
Posts: 1594
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Essen/ Germany
Contact:

Re: Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

Post by enviadmin »

Sure not the grid number. You need to convert that to some metric unit in a known projection system first, eg UTM. Then you google for code to tansfer UTM to WGS. Not trivial

Michael

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

Post by Dishant »

Okay thank you sir. I will try changing in to some known unit.

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

Post by Dishant »

Sir,
Can I know that how can I convert that output file into some known form. i.e. UTM ? . Can you please explain with some example or refrence

Online
Tim
Posts: 1855
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

Post by Tim »

Hi,

you can use a website where the longitude latitude coordinates of the lower left corner (given in your model area information) are converted into UTM coordinates. Since UTM is meter based, you can easily calculate the coordinates of each grid cell:
X coordinates = X value of UTM coordinates of lower left grid cell + (gridcell position X * dx)
Y coordinates = Y value UTM coordinates of lower left grid cell + (gridcell position Y * dx)

Best regards
Tim

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Converting output file from grid numbers to latitude and longitude

Post by Dishant »

I tried and I am able to convert my grid cell to lat long using this

Thank you so much.


regards,
Dishant

Post Reply