ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

All around LEONARDO 4 (and previous 2014)
Napatsornk
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:52 pm

ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

Postby Napatsornk » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:07 pm

Hi,

I was wondering whether there are any other easier ways for me to simulate the model faster. I create one model building with few trees include the courtyard inside the building and it takes a lot of time for the simulations. On the ENVIGuide I choose to simulate the model in the afternoon to see the result from 12 pm to 13 pm but I need to wait for the simulations to runs and it takes me 62hours to wait on it. However, I need to simulate a lot of model as many scenarios to see the different results and combine it for my dissertation but I was aware that I wouldn't make all the results on time.

Best Regards,
Napatsorn Katechaiyo

Tim
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

Postby Tim » Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:23 am

Hi Napatsorn Katechaiyo,

The simulation time depends on the hardware you are using and the model area size. You may want to choose a coarser resolution resulting in lower grid cell amounts and thus shorter simulation time.

Best regards,
Tim

Napatsornk
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:52 pm

Re: ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

Postby Napatsornk » Fri Jun 21, 2019 1:46 pm

Hi Tim,

If I change the grid size would the simulation of the air temperature becomes accurate? And which size of grid size you would suggest to use for the simulation that will not took lots of times.

Best Regards
Napatsorn Katechaiyo

Tim
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

Postby Tim » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:10 am

Hi Napatsorn Katechaiyo,

Of course,results of simulation with coarser resolution will not be as accurate as with high resolution but it will be faster (and that is what you asked for).
It depends on the model area size. An area of 500x500 m can be modelled in 1 m resolution resulting in 500x500 cells and also in 5 m resolution resulting in 100x100 grid cells. 100x100 is pretty fast, whereas 500x500 will be very slow... You will need to try out according to your hardware.

Best regards,
Tim

Napatsornk
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:52 pm

Re: ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

Postby Napatsornk » Sat Jun 22, 2019 6:20 pm

Hi Tim,

Below I had attached my model size somehow is still take plenty of time to simulate in this model dimension. My model file includes 10 vegetation in 15m medium size heart shapes deciduous.
Attachments
Model Setting.JPG
Model Size

enviadmin
Site Admin
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Essen/ Germany
Contact:

Re: ENVI_MET V4 (Default Config)

Postby enviadmin » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:53 am

Maybe you should define -plenty of time-.
On an aceptable system, 30-30-30 shall take around 4-6 hrs for 24 sim hrs

Michael


Return to “LEONARDO 4”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest