Question regarding the model limitations

Post here for very basic questions and request for help...
But: BEFORE you post, read the older posts if your question hasn't been answered before.
Please be specific. Q like "I don't understand ENVI-met" will most likely be ignored.
Post Reply
Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Dishant »

Can a whole city with about 400 sq.km be simulated using ENVI-met?
Can it be done by dividing the city area in parts?

enviadmin
Site Admin
Posts: 1594
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Essen/ Germany
Contact:

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by enviadmin »

If you have a very strong computer...
You might also split in tiles but in this case there won‘t be interactions between the tiles

Michael

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Dishant »

Thank you, sir, for your spontaneous reply. Is there any limit to which the area that can be used as a study area or just it depends on the computer's specifications?

enviadmin
Site Admin
Posts: 1594
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Essen/ Germany
Contact:

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by enviadmin »

Basically it only depends on your computer.
The question is more if it makes sense to simulate such a large area in one go...
Michael

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Dishant »

okay thank you so much.

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Dishant »

Hello Sir,
So if I have a PC with 128gb ram and 10tb hard disk and 8 core 2.93ghz. So what is the maximum possible area that can I simulate in ENVI-met using this configuration?

Tim
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Tim »

Hi,

I'd recommend at maximum 500x500 grids for the first try in order to simulate in a reasonable time with 8 cores. The RAM and hard disk space are definitely sufficient for running larger areas.

Best regards
Tim

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Dishant »

Thank you so much. I will try it.

laugu
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:04 am

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by laugu »

Hi Dishant

Did you finally perform the simulation of a large region. We also need to simulate a large region and we would like to know previous experiences.
Than you in advance.
Best Regards

Rabbit Blue
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:50 pm

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Rabbit Blue »

me too........

Dishant
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Post by Dishant »

Hi,

I am still trying out to simulate large area. I could do it to a size of 0.5 sq km in time with such specification.
If I try and succeed will definitely let you know


Regards,
Dishant

Post Reply