Page 1 of 1

Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:07 am
by Dishant
Can a whole city with about 400 sq.km be simulated using ENVI-met?
Can it be done by dividing the city area in parts?

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:04 am
by enviadmin
If you have a very strong computer...
You might also split in tiles but in this case there won‘t be interactions between the tiles

Michael

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:21 am
by Dishant
Thank you, sir, for your spontaneous reply. Is there any limit to which the area that can be used as a study area or just it depends on the computer's specifications?

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:32 am
by enviadmin
Basically it only depends on your computer.
The question is more if it makes sense to simulate such a large area in one go...
Michael

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:06 am
by Dishant
okay thank you so much.

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 6:26 am
by Dishant
Hello Sir,
So if I have a PC with 128gb ram and 10tb hard disk and 8 core 2.93ghz. So what is the maximum possible area that can I simulate in ENVI-met using this configuration?

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:08 am
by Tim
Hi,

I'd recommend at maximum 500x500 grids for the first try in order to simulate in a reasonable time with 8 cores. The RAM and hard disk space are definitely sufficient for running larger areas.

Best regards
Tim

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:08 am
by Dishant
Thank you so much. I will try it.

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 7:40 am
by laugu
Hi Dishant

Did you finally perform the simulation of a large region. We also need to simulate a large region and we would like to know previous experiences.
Than you in advance.
Best Regards

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:07 pm
by Rabbit Blue
me too........

Re: Question regarding the model limitations

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:02 am
by Dishant
Hi,

I am still trying out to simulate large area. I could do it to a size of 0.5 sq km in time with such specification.
If I try and succeed will definitely let you know


Regards,
Dishant