Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Post here for very basic questions and request for help...
But: BEFORE you post, read the older posts if your question hasn't been answered before.
Please be specific. Q like "I don't understand ENVI-met" will most likely be ignored.
alicimo
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:38 pm

Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby alicimo » Fri Apr 17, 2020 5:37 am

Hello!

I hope you are well and safe. I am a student and am currently trying to use the free version of Envi Met to do some fairly simple simulations but am encountering several problems.

My first issue is that even though I set my grid size to be 50 x 50 x 40, it always tells me to make it smaller with this pop up that I have attached below, just before the simulation can even start. I have tried changing the grid sizes countless times, and have seen that it only seems to work with 20 x 20 x 10 for me. Is it possible that it's a PC problem?

The second thing I would like to ask is what the following pop message means.

Thank you very much in advance :)
Attachments
image1.jpeg
Model Size Issue
image0.jpeg
Application Error Pop Up

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby Tim » Fri Apr 17, 2020 5:57 am

Hi,

Did you add nesting grids? They count to the grid cell limitation as well. If the error occurs when closing Spaces, it should be no problem at all.

Best regards,
Tim

alicimo
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:38 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby alicimo » Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:51 am

Hi Tim,

I don't think I have added Nesting Grids... unless it was done automatically. Could you please let me know how I can check that?

Thank you

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby Tim » Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:53 am

Hi,

No, that does not happen automatically. If you zip the files and attach them here, we could find it out quickly.

Best regards,
Tim

alicimo
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:38 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby alicimo » Sat Apr 18, 2020 3:27 am

Hi Tim. Here it is.
Attachments
Copthorne Neighborhood Diff Dimensions.zip
(57.53 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby Tim » Sat Apr 18, 2020 6:52 am

Hi,

You do have 10 nesting grids. Reduce them to 0 in the Edit Area dialog and it will run.

Best regards,
Tim

alicimo
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:38 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby alicimo » Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:32 am

Thank you. I have changed the nesting grids to 0, but now, for some reason, my simulation won't run as it keeps saying the program isn't responding. I have tried to restart everything and it still does not work. Could it be due to these errors below? And what do these errors mean?
Attachments
errors.JPG
Capture1.JPG

Tim
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Model Size Issue/Application Error Pop Up

Postby Tim » Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:14 am

Hi,

Please check all the threads and FAQs about this. It is absolutely normal and will take hours or even days until you see new progress, the simulation runs.

Best regards,
Tim


Return to “Beginner's Corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest