Air Temperature in Leonardo

All around LEONARDO 4 (and previous 2014)
ajsuleiman007

Air Temperature in Leonardo

Postby ajsuleiman007 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:56 pm

Hi,

I am fairly new to Envi-Met, so please bare with me, I have gone through the forum to look for already answered questions, but I still have a few questions.

1) I ran simulation with Trees (Palm Trees) and without Trees as seen in the images below. In the image with trees, there's an area (circled red) showing higher Air temperature next to the building, could there be an explanation for this please?

2) Additionally, shouldn't the air temperature remain constant at all times? or how does Envi-met calculate the air temperature after extracting from the epw files?

Note: I used fullforcing for the simulation, using .epw files for Abu Dhabi in peak summertime of June 21 @12pm

WithTrees.png
With Trees (Palm Trees)

WithoutTrees.png
Without Trees

Tim

Re: Air Temperature in Leonardo

Postby Tim » Fri Oct 25, 2019 1:41 pm

Hi,

1) That can have multiple reasons depending on the local model area and the meteorological boundary conditions. If it gets too hot, plants close their stomata and leafs stop evaporating which heats up the leafs, so they can also heat up the environment under specific circumstances. They can also block the wind flow and thus stopping ventilation of the area causing the hot air to accumulate there in front of the building.
2) No, air temperature values of course differ for the different times of the day as they do in reality. I think I did not understand that question correctly.
I hope that you did not simulate only that one hour at 12 pm but a full day giving the model time to spin up.

Best regards,
Tim

ajsuleiman007

Postby ajsuleiman007 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 2:25 pm

Tim wrote:Hi,